There comes a time in most businesses lifecycle when you can't do it all on your own. You've taken the most important first step and are now using 17hats to help organize and automate your client experience! Now, you may be bringing on new team members to help along the way.
What Happens When I Add A User?
Once you add a user, they will be sent a welcome email letting them know they've been added to your 17hats account. This will include a button link for them to create a password and sign into the account if they have not accepted an invitation in the past.
Once they accept their invitation, they will be added to your contact list as a "collaborator" type contact. This is an internal record only, so no project should be created for this contact record as it may affect email syncing.
To ensure projects are not accidentally added to this contact record, open the contact record and select the option to "hide from client list" as shown below:
Have additional brands?
If you have additional brands/accounts and you want your users to access them, you will also need to add them as a user to those separate brands. You can change the permissions for each specific brand, so if there is something you want them to have access to in one brand, versus another, you can limit what they see per brand.
While every business is different, there are a few best practices to keep in mind when you add users to your 17hats account. Listed below, you'll find tips and things to think about for some of the features your user may work with.
Once a team member is added to 17hats a default calendar will be created for them. To keep your calendars organized and eliminate any congestion, your team member should use this calendar for To-Do's and Workflow Items they may complete.
Once they sign into their account, they will want to update the default calendar name to "To-Do's/Workflow Calendar" or something similar, so it's easier to understand the purpose of that calendar moving forward.
Below is an example of how this can look using 17hats calendars, but the same setup can be completed if you create Sub-Calendars through google. Take a look at this article for those steps.
Admin level users, and team member level user with To-Do permissions will be able to see all to-do's within 17hats. This includes to-do's owned by other users. They'll also be able to add tasks to any to-do lists within the account whether that is their own or another user.
If they do not have To-Do permissions, the user will only be able to see a default to-do list for themselves, add new to-do tasks or lists for themselves, and edit and delete their own to-do lists.
If you want to assign projects to users, you will want to use the 17hats tagging feature. This will allow you and your users to easily generate a list of all projects a specific person is working on.
For a full description of how to use tags to assign projects, please review our "How to Assign Projects Using Tags" help article.
Assign tasks and other action items to your user from within your workflow templates. Each step can be assigned to a specific user which will help you automate the days work and will eliminate the need to re-assign tasks manually.
If you want each user to be able to send and receive email messages with their specific email account you will want to use the 17hats Outgoing Mail Server.
Once you change to the 17hats Outgoing Server, you will be able to send from any of your synced user email addresses, and replies to these messages will come back to those specific user email accounts.
To see if you're using the 17hats server, go to your Account Settings > Email Settings and scroll to the Outgoing Email section.
If you're currently using your own outgoing server and want to switch, click the "Change Outgoing Server" button and select the 17hats option from the drop down.
The 17hats Timer is based off the account, not individual user login. If one user is currently using the Timer to track time spent on a project, other users will not be able to simultaneously track time.
Depending on how much you use the Time Tracking feature, consider having your users track time using an outside source. Then, they can log the time within the project once done.
* This feature may not be available on all plan types.
As always, feel free to reach out via Live Chat if you still have any remaining questions and we'll be happy to help out!