If you make any changes to a workflow, please be aware that does not change the instances of that workflow that have already been applied to projects.
In other words, if you delete, add, or rearrange items in a workflow template, if that original workflow has already been applied to a project, that instance of the workflow in that project will not change. You can also make the change in the workflow instance, or apply a new workflow.
When adding a workflow to a project, you are in essence, pasting the previously created Workflow's to-dos/action/pauses content to the Project. You are then able to move things around, add steps, and customize it per project. To avoid losing all up to date reminders/to-dos, as well as losing any additional steps that were added when customizing the projects workflow, workflow templates do not get re-added or updated as changes get made.
Keyword Search: Workflow, Template, Instance, Change