If you wish you "void" out an Invoice due to a project cancellation, you can simply add in a negative line item equal to the remaining balance on the document to bring the balance due down to $0.00.

This will allow you to still keep the Invoice saved within the project, as opposed to deleting it completely, and will also prevent future Invoice Reminders from going out to the client should you have that setting turned on.

To void out an Invoice:

  • Step 1: Open up the Invoice > Click Edit > Click Edit Invoice
  • Step 2: Click on Add Item > enter in a line item for a negative amount equal to the remaining balance on the Invoice. You can add in the additional details including the reason for why you're voiding out the Invoice in the line item's description.
  • Step 3: If the original Invoice amount was taxed, please be sure to also check off the applicable tax settings for this negative line item. Please also select the same Income Category as the one used in the original item.
  • Step 4: Hit Save.


KeyWordSearch: Invoice, Void Invoice, Cancel Invoice, Delete Invoice

Did this answer your question?